Home      The Book      Cannes 2020      Festival Guide      Travel & Lodging      Restaurants      Books & Apps
menu icon
Cinema de la Plage, Cannes

Cannes Film Festival Juries

Jury members for 2018

Prior to the beginning of each event, the Festival de Cannes board of directors appoints four juries who will hold sole responsibility for selecting films from the festival crop which will receive the blessing of a Cannes award. Jurors are chosen from all walks of the international film industry, based on their body of work and respect from their peers. In many cases, jury membership (especially the presidency) is bestowed on a kind of 'lifetime achievement award' basis.

Showing Juries for the

Jury du Festival de Cannes

This jury bestows the awards for films in the Compétition section of the festival.

Cate Blanchett (Actor, Australia)
Jury Members
Chang Chen (Actor, China)
Ava DuVernay (Producer, USA)
Robert Guédiguian (Director, France)
Khadja Nin (Composer, Burundi)
Léa Seydoux (Actor, France)
Kristen Stewart (Actor, USA)
Denis Villeneuve (Director, Canada)
Andrey Zvyagintsev (Director, Russia)

Jury du Court Métrage

This jury bestows the awards for short films in the Compétition and Cinéfondation sections of the festival.

Bertrand Bonello (Director, France)
Jury Members
Valeska Grisebach (Director, Germany)
Khalil Joreige (Director, Lebanon)
Alante Kavaite (Director/Writer, Lithuania)
Ariane Labed (Actor, France)

Un Certain Regard Jury

This jury bestows the awards for films in the Un Certain Regard section of the festival.

Benicio Del Toro (Actor, Puerto Rico)
Jury Members
Annemarie Jacir (Writer/Director, Palestine)
Kantemir Balagov (Director, Russia)
Virginie Ledoyen (Actor, France)
Julie Huntsinger (Festival Director (Telluride), USA)
Marie Amachoukeli-Barsacq (Director, France)

Caméra d'Or Jury

This jury selects the winner of the Caméra d'Or award, for best film from a first-time director in the official selection, International Critics' Week, and Directors' Fortnight sections.

Ursula Meier (Director, France)
Jury Members
Iris Brey (Director, France/USA)
Sylvain Fage (President, Cinephase, France)
Jeanne Lapoirie (Cinematographer, France)
Arnaud Larrieu (Director, France)
Jean-Marie Larrieu (Director, France)
A full rundown on the 2020 Cannes Film Festival, is available in the book, Cannes - A Festival Virgin's Guide (7th Edition).
Find Out More >

< Back to Cannes 2020