Home      The Book      Cannes 2020      Festival Guide      Travel & Lodging      Restaurants      Books & Apps
menu icon
Village International, Cannes

Cannes Film Festival Juries

Jury members for 2009

Prior to the beginning of each event, the Festival de Cannes board of directors appoints four juries who will hold sole responsibility for selecting films from the festival crop which will receive the blessing of a Cannes award. Jurors are chosen from all walks of the international film industry, based on their body of work and respect from their peers. In many cases, jury membership (especially the presidency) is bestowed on a kind of 'lifetime achievement award' basis.

Showing Juries for the

Jury du Festival de Cannes

This jury bestows the awards for films in the Compétition section of the festival.

Isabelle Huppert (Actress, France)
Jury Members
Asia Argento (Actress/Director/Screenwriter, Italy)
Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Actor/Director/Screenwriter, Turkey)
Lee Chang-Dong (Director/Screenwriter, South Korea)
James Gray (Director/Screenwriter, USA)
Hanif Kureishi (Screenwriter, UK)
Shu Qi (Actress, Taiwan)
Sharmila Tagore (Actress, India)
Robin Wright Penn (Actress, USA)

Jury du Court Métrage

This jury bestows the awards for short films in the Compétition and Cinéfondation sections of the festival.

John Boorman (Director/Writer/Producer, UK)
Jury Members
Bertrand Bonello (Director, France)
Ferid Boughedir (Director, Tunisia)
Leonor Silveira (Actress, Portugal )
Zhang Ziyi (Actress, China)

Un Certain Regard Jury

This jury bestows the awards for films in the Un Certain Regard section of the festival.

Paolo Sorrentino (Writer/Director, Italy)
Jury Members
Uma Da Cunha (Journalist, India)
Julie Gayet (Actress, France)
Piers Handling (Film Festival Director, Canada)
Marit Kapla (Film Festival Director, Sweden)

Caméra d'Or Jury

This jury selects the winner of the Caméra d'Or award, for best film from a first-time director in the official selection, International Critics' Week, and Directors' Fortnight sections.

Roschdy Zem (Actor/Director, France)
Jury Members
Diane Baratier (Cinematographer, France)
Olivier Chiavassa (Federation of Film Technicians, France)
Sandrine Ray (Director, France)
Charles Tesson (Critic, France)
Edouard Waintrop (Film Festival Director, France)
A full rundown on the 2020 Cannes Film Festival, is available in the book, Cannes - A Festival Virgin's Guide (7th Edition).
Find Out More >

< Back to Cannes 2020