Cannes red carpet

Cannes Film Festival Juries

Jury members for 2017

Prior to the beginning of each event, the Festival de Cannes board of directors appoints four juries who will hold sole responsibility for selecting films from the festival crop which will receive the blessing of a Cannes award. Jurors are chosen from all walks of the international film industry, based on their body of work and respect from their peers. In many cases, jury membership (especially the presidency) is bestowed on a kind of 'lifetime achievement award' basis.

Jury du Festival de Cannes

This jury bestows the awards for films in the Compétition section of the festival.

Pedro Almodóvar (Director/Writer, Spain)
Jury Members
Maren Ade (Producer, Germany)
Jessica Chastain (Actor, USA)
Fan Bingbing (Actor, China)
Agnès Jaoui (Actor, France)
Park Chan-wook (Director, South Korea)
Will Smith (Actor, USA)
Paolo Sorrentino (Director, Italy)
Gabriel Yared (Composer, France)

Jury du Court Métrage

This jury bestows the awards for short films in the Compétition and Cinéfondation sections of the festival.

Cristian Mungiu (Director, Romania)
Jury Members
Clotilde Hesme (Actress, France)
Barry Jenkins (Director, USA)
Eric Khoo (Writer/Director/Producer, Singapore)
Athina Rachel Tsangari (Writer/Director/Producer, Greece)

Un Certain Regard Jury

This jury bestows the awards for films in the Un Certain Regard section of the festival.

Uma Thurman (Actor, USA)
Jury Members
Mohamed Diab (Director, Egypt)
Reda Kateb (Actor, France)
Joachim Lafosse (Director, Belgium)
Karel Och (Artistic Director, Karlovy Vary Film Festival, Czech Republic)

Caméra d'Or Jury

This jury selects the winner of the Caméra d'Or award, for best film from a first-time director in the official selection, International Critics' Week, and Directors' Fortnight sections.

Sandrine Kiberlain (Actor, France)
Jury Members
Patrick Blossier (Cinematographer, France)
Élodie Bouchez (Actress, France)
Guillaume Brac (Director/Producer, France)
Thibault Carterot (President M141, France)
Fabien Gaffez (Critic, France)
Michel Merkt (Producer, Switzerland)

Previous Year's Juries | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009

< Back to Cannes Festival Guide

Get The Book, Free Shipping

Cover of Cannes - A Festival Virgin's Guide, by Benjamin Craig

The essential handbook for filmmakers, film fans, and film industry professionals looking to attend the Cannes Film Festival. Available in paperback and digital formats.

Find Out More >